Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog

I Think, Therefore I Blog

Recruiters Can Be a Job Seeker’s Best Friend

We all know how much effort it takes to find the perfect job.  It requires planning, tenacity, strategy, and plenty of resources.  As you take command of this endeavor, keep in mind, as a job seeker you have plenty of places to turn for assistance. 

An ideal group of people where you can find assistance is recruiters. Although you might have mixed reviews or experiences with this bunch, there are thousands of good ones out there.

Today’s blog post comes in the form of another article I’ve written for Job-Hunt.org.  This post outlines the key advantages of leveraging recruiters in your job search.  Click on this link to read it, and as always, feel free to leave comments below.

More information on working with recruitersRecruiting Your Recruiter in the Job Search

June 2, 2009 - Posted by | Job Search, Job-Hunt.org article, Video, Working with Recruiters

14 Comments »

  1. Jeff,

    I like it, I’m getting ready to spread it on my social networking sites. Thank you for your wisdom and insights, I have passed many around and have only gotten great feedback. Keep up the good work!!

    Tim Harsh
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/timharsh
    http://www.visualcv.com/timharsh
    http://twitter.com/timharsh

    Comment by Tim Harsh | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Jeff,

    Great video and article. Yes, start a company “Get A Job, Inc.” and be prepared to work long hours as you seek full time employment. And, should I ever be looking for a new job, I’m definitely going to oursource some of the work to recruiters, especially to top-notch recruiters like you and Craig. [Yeah, you didn’t ask for the plug but I think you both deserve it!]

    Comment by Jeff Hurt | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Jeff,

    Another insightful and practical article for job seekers.

    I encourage my clients to partner with recruiters because of the success stories and great feedback they and others have had with them.

    Great post! Thanks.

    Erin Kennedy, CPRW
    Professional Resume Services

    Comment by Executive Resume Writer | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thank you so much for the article/s on your site. Personally, I’ve not had good experience working with recruitters because of the obvious, their purpose is to make a commission, not to best address my needs. Every job I’ve ever had has been acquired through the informal network. Since I’m a human resource development professional, I have to find my own jobs because it is rare that a company will pay a recruiter to find someone like me.

    I love the articles on your page, and I’m glad Jeff Hurt suggested that we read your blog on twitter.

    Comment by Margo Rose | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. Very good advice for the jobseeker to keep in mind. There are a lot of resources out there that jobseekers dont look into. It is like passing up on many great opportunities.

    Comment by Gil Vander Voort | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  6. I really like the style, content and delivery of such a vital message. Both the article and the video ring true and the message is one that needs to be listened to.

    Comment by Bill Vick | June 3, 2009 | Reply

  7. Re the video. I think it illustrates something we mentioned when we spoke about http://www.verbalsummary.com

    It doesn’t add much to the article – except the personal touch. You seem like a nice guy and that gives people an extra reason to consider what you say.

    Comment by Recruiting Animal | June 4, 2009 | Reply

  8. Re the article –

    The pros and cons of recruiters are well stated.

    – recruiters don’t call you back
    – they work for clients, not candidates
    – boo hoo!

    – if you engage with a few recruiters in your area you have connected with many relevant firms

    Missing:
    – the 31 year old guy who is dismantling GM would not be presented by a recruiter
    – because he’s not an obvious fit

    – here’s a profile in the NYT http://cli.gs/SyS9U0

    – he’s young and he doesn’t have any background in the auto industry

    Mind you, he’s been given huge power by Larry Summers but his title isn’t that senior so he might have been presented for that title.

    And, someone who understands government might have recognized that his background made him a fit for this job

    But the journalist finds him a surprising choice.
    And I suspect that most recruiters would too.

    Comment by Recruiting Animal | June 4, 2009 | Reply

  9. Jeff,

    Thank you for posting this. I have had this conversation with many candidates, although I like how you phrase it: “Get A Job, Inc.”

    By giving value to a candidate, you not only help cultivate a great relationship, but you also reflect positively on your client or employer.

    On the flip, if you are a job seeker, all of the points in the article are true: we do know the salary, we do know the feedback, and yes, we are inundated with resumes, so networking is really the best way to “get in”.

    @Fieldsy4Life

    Comment by Adam Fields | June 4, 2009 | Reply

  10. I have had various relationships with recruiters over the years. Some were resume paper mills.

    One guy out of Huntsville AL talked me out of throwing in the towel in frustration with one company and it turned out to be the best job I ever had.

    Another guy told me I would never work in HR again after I left a position that turned out not be anything like I had been led to believe after 3 months. He was wrong.

    So I say it depends on the field you work in – some are pretty narrow and everybody literally knows everybody. Others are too big, and even knowing the good recruiters well is no guaranty, although it can’t hurt!

    Comment by Michael VanDervort | June 4, 2009 | Reply

  11. Jeff — Once again, great insight and clever presentation! One of the best summaries I’ve seen of the reasons to work with a recruiter. I especially like your emphasis on the collaborative aspect which I think many candidates AND recruiters fail to maximize. Also, I like your description as “The Big Kahuna” of networking. This in itself makes us of tremendous value to job seekers — however, I present this to clients as a selling point as well since our networking ability is a large part of finding those elusive outstanding candidates. In the end, it truly is a “relationship” business. Love it.

    Comment by Donna White | June 4, 2009 | Reply

  12. Jeff, another helpful post for job seekers. You’ve effectively captured the why and how of working with recruiters. I think there are a lot of misconceptions among both job seekers and career coaches about the role of a good recruiter, so thanks for this information and your engaging writing style. It’s important that people not judge all recruiters based on bad–or even good–experiences with one. I got my last corporate job through a recruiter; it was not advertised anywhere. I have also partnered with or recommended recruiters to help my clients and business friends find jobs.

    Comment by Mary Wilson | June 4, 2009 | Reply

  13. […] Related Past Article: Recruiters Can Be a Job Seeker’s Best Friend […]

    Pingback by Are Your Recruiters Naughty or Nice? « Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog | December 7, 2010 | Reply

  14. […] Related past article:  Recruiters Can Be a Job Seeker’s Best Friend […]

    Pingback by Remember Job Seekers: You Are a Community « Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog | February 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

