Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog

I Think, Therefore I Blog

Social Media: Is It On Your Menu?

Social Media comes in many flavors and is consumed in many forms.  And the portions vary, too.  By now, you must have heard enough about it to draw your own opinions on the subject.  Assuming of course, you have a clue what it is, what it can used for, and who is eating all this tasty (or in some cases, tasteless) content.  There will be no lecture on Social Media benefits, uses, or downsides in this post. 

Today I want to know if you and the company you work for understand the concept of branding  using Social Media (and leverage it).

In other words, are you drinking from the Social Media water cooler?  Are employees?  Are you branding yourself? Let me hear from you! There are two polls below and an open door to comments. You will be able to answer the question from two perspectives: your company and yourself.

Also, as a company leader, if you are not leveraging Social Media (or don’t “get it”), take a look at what Arment Dietrich is doing.  They are not just drinking from the water cooler–they are supplying the water.  After reviewing their approach, ping me for help with Employer Branding using Social Media.

If you are not leveraging Social Media for branding yourself, join the LinkedIn Group: A-List Career Branding.  It’s time to eat it up–the dinner bell is ringing.

 

June 17, 2009 - Posted by | Social Media

11 Comments »

  1. Without social media, I would not have met my wife and the mother of my three children. I also would not have much of the comforts I enjoy, like food, shelter, etcetera. I have a lot of reasons to believe in it. If companies do not understand it or care to learn about social media, a natural selection of sorts will take over. It is fine with me. Many companies are not worth saving anyway, so by the means of social media the best will survive.

    Editor’s Note: Mark has a great post of his own on the subject, too: http://www.awebguy.com/2009/03/the-social-media-marketing-dilemma/

    Comment by Mark Aaron Murnahan | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. I breaks my heart to say this (not really) because of all the work you put into creating that conceit (an extended metaphor) but I could have done without all the food and water cooler poetry. Wd have preferred to get right down to business. (And trust me, I get many letters telling me to do the same thing).

    Comment by Recruiting Animal | June 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Ah Animal, counterbalancing your one critique, I get many, many unsolicited positive words of approval (and not just within the blog). I think I’ll stick to my formula and you stick to yours, my friend. My readers enjoy the journey and the destination in this blog. Thanks for caring enough to share.
      -Jeff

      Comment by jefflipschultz | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. Interesting that you used the words promote, products, services and reputation in your voting process. I struggled with this as we use social media to share and deliver content, and build, maintain and engage customer relationships. That’s more than sales or promotions of our products and services. I guess you could say that’s reputation management yet it feels more important than that. It’s about people, not things. We work hard on building Trust 2.0 in the Web 2.0 world and keeping our focus on people.

    Comment by Jeff Hurt | June 19, 2009 | Reply

    • You’re right, Jeff H., I was simplifying things a bit to keep the poll short/simple. If you are engaging the general public to be aware of your company as a “good company to do business with OR work for,” you definitely are promoting your reputation. It is usually crystal clear when companies are just pushing their products through SM. Your perspective is a good launch point for anyone starting this Web 2.0 journey.

      Comment by jefflipschultz | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. Jeff – good poll! Insightful stats… I’ll be checking back to see how it progresses when more complete it =)

    -Lauren (@beebow)

    Comment by Lauren | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. Interesting stats are populating on your polls. Looking at personal and employer branding side by side is relevatory. It supports my theory that as individuals we are at liberty to quickly adopt new technology and explore the unknown while as companies we are not so fast. My new blog isn’t quite ready to be unveiled yet but I recently started with this post which further defines why http://karlaporter.com/cms/

    Comment by Karla | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. As you may know, I’m a big fan of social media. We have changed our whole delivery model around this arena. I have to question the validity of these polls. Not being critical but I have started to wonder how accurate polls on social media are that are promoted almost exclusively through social media. An example I can give you is a recent announcement from a linked in poll that 75% of hiring managers use Li. the questions were asked on an Li poll! Not surprisingly the results are high! To me it’s a bit like polling zoo visitors if they like animals then applying the result to the population as a whole. I’m looking for a conference where I can run some more traditional polls to get a truer picture. Will advise when I get results back.
    In terms of the blog, I would give the following advice:
    1: before you start, make sure you have something you can sell via this channel. If you can’t, you will never get a return on investment. for example, if your objective is to drive job seekers to your c.v. writing service, keep this focus in mind and evaluate results.
    2: choose your followers and engage regularly. These should either be people who can buy from you or people who can influence others in your direction. You will realize quickly who these are. Think of them as people rather than followers (that always sounds a bit cultish!), learn about them and engage on a business and personal level.
    3; Blend your marketing. I use linked in, groups and profile, twitter and other people’s blogs. I am now better known as @BillBoorman or The Good News Group (Recruiters) than I am for my company Bill Boorman Consultancy. Each brand now has its own product line.
    4: Include plenty of traditional sales and marketing activity. I speak at conferences, sell and jump in and out of Skype. I also use white papers to promote my thinking. If you find the right reporters on twitter, you can also get lots of coverage in national media.
    5; Don’t expect an instant return. My view is that you need to allow at least 6 months before you get real returns. Worth the time, but most quit before then.
    Hope this helps,
    See you in the twittersphere
    @BillBoorman

    Comment by Bill Boorman | June 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Totally agree that the stats should be skewed on the individual poll. I actually was going to mention it, but took it out of post for brevity sake (and didn’t want to deter anyone from taking poll). I’m curious to see how skewed it will be. On the flipside, I would expect less skewed data on the company-related poll. Might be interesting to revist this poll in a year and see how the companies have evolved.
      Cheers!
      Jeff

      Comment by jefflipschultz | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. I feel that as a recruiters socialmedia will help in 2 ways.
    1. Finding candidates
    2. Promoting ourselves in finding the next job

    Comment by ShawnRecruits4u | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  8. I have been on Linkedin for years, but am definitely still at the beginning stages of exploring the power of social media for recruiting. I definitely see the benefits and potential.

    Comment by Gil Vander Voort | June 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

