Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog

I Think, Therefore I Blog

Will I Find You in the Social Mediasphere?

So many job seekers tell me they are doing everything they can to find a job.  But when I ask them how much they’ve done to brand themselves using Social Media, I get a blank stare or a sigh.  Or I hear questions such as:

  • Isn’t that a waste of time? Or too much work?
  • Isn’t Social Media only useful for finding Web-related jobs?
  • Isn’t it just a fad?

Social Media is not a waste of time if you manage it carefully. It absolutely can used to find job, and more importantly, have the hiring team find YOU.  And this world evolves every day, constantly adding more ways to be leveraged.

Last week, I was interviewed by another recruiter on this subject. Stephen Hinton asked me all about Blogging, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.  For those who are just starting out in branding themselves in Social Media, it may be a good starting point.

Listen to the interview.

 

 

twitter                 facebook                  linkedin

October 31, 2009 - Posted by | Audio, Careers, Interview with Jeff, Social Media

6 Comments »

  1. I wish my girlfriend would read your post. She thinks the time I spend on social media is worthless. I do plan to reduce time on the computer but more time producing and selectively networking.
    Hope to see you on LinkedIn

    All the Best
    Bill

    Comment by Bill Whetstone | October 31, 2009 | Reply

  2. I just listened to the entire interview you did with Stephen Hinton. I will be sending the link to my franchisees. Not so they can seek other employment but to listen to your powerful message about social media and branding!

    Very nice interview!

    Comment by Deb Evans | October 31, 2009 | Reply

  3. I also give this advice to kids still in college. If they have connected with one of us via the social networks, and built a relationship BEFORE they graduate, by the time they send us their resume, we already know that we’re interested in interviewing them. It’ll soon get to the point that if they haven’t connected with us online, we won’t accept their resumes.

    Comment by Gini Dietrich | November 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. Read your post and really found it much related to my current profession.

    Comment by home based staffing | November 7, 2009 | Reply

  5. so true Social media is not waste of time .
    it can do wonders : )
    i firmly do believe that .

    Comment by Homebased business | December 5, 2009 | Reply

  6. […] Will I Find You in the Social Mediasphere? […]

    Pingback by Being Virtually Connected « Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog | March 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment