Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog

I Think, Therefore I Blog

Happy New Year Job Seekers?

HNYAlthough many are still gift shopping for the holiday season, it is not too soon to  work on New Year’s resolutions.  Especially for job seekers!  This month’s Job-Hunt.org article provides many choices for improving the job search process.  Feel free to contribute others by adding comments to this post.

Article:  New Year’s Resolutions for Job Seekers

December 14, 2009 - Posted by | General Musings, Job Search, Job-Hunt.org article

6 Comments »

  1. Hi Jeff,
    Great, organized and realistic list from which job seekers may choose!

    As you encouraged, I am contributing another possible New Year’s resolution for job seekers!

    Attitude
    * I will determine that no matter what obstacles I face, I will focus on positive conclusions.
    * I will gravitate toward optimistic, confident and encouraging personalities with whom to collaborate, share and provide mutual support.
    * Though being a friend to those in need is important, I will make self-care a #1 priority, as only by shoring up my own emotional and intellectual resources can I be ‘there’ for others.

    ~Jacqui

    Comment by Jacqui Barrett-Poindexter | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Jeff,

    Very practical advice that are well worth going beyond February. Permit me to some additional points:

    Attitude

    * I will learn to control the negative self-talk I engage in daily, and adopt a state of positive expectation with respect to my career and/or job search.

    Networking

    * I will remind myself that networking is a two-way process and that there is value in giving as there is in receiving.

    Career

    *I will commit to ongoing professional development so am always one step ahead of the competition.

    Daisy

    Comment by Daisy Wright | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. Great suggestions, affirmations, and resolutions. I’m more about goals I will achieve. I will work more dilligently to achieve my goals. Thanks to you, and your advice.

    Comment by Margo Rose HRMargo twitter | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. Practical + valuable thoughts here Jeff.

    It’s equally important for job seekers to take time for self-assessment + reflection, especially as we greet a brand new year. New beginnings…

    Here’s to a fabulous 2010! Thanks for sharing + simply being you.

    Comment by Meghan M. Biro | December 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hi Jeff –

    Another great post – here is my contribution to the resolutions;

    Self-Branding
    I will define my three areas of expertise and share that knowledge with others and market it to possible employers.

    Comment by Gretchen | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. Great list, Jeff…so helpful too. I hope you continue to write even more in 2010. You have one of the industry’s best voices.
    GL

    Comment by glhoffman | January 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

