Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog

I Think, Therefore I Blog

The Post-Holidays Quiz

January.  The holidays are behind us. The new year (and decade) is in front of us.  As we return to reality, we take inventory of our current status.  Here’s a little quiz to see how you’re starting out the new year.

1.  When you stepped on the scale this morning, you:

  • found out you lost weight since December 1st (0 points)
  • gained a few pounds since December 1st (3 points)
  • gained more than you care to admit (5 points)

2.  You already know when the credit card bill comes this month, you:

  • will pay the balance in full right away (0 points)
  • you will pay the balance off in the next four months (3 points)
  • you have no idea when you’ll pay it off (5 points)

3.  The number of unanswered emails, letters, phone calls, and tasks that awaits you:

  • is minimal and will take only a day to sort through (0 points)
  • is a little intimidating and is causing you to curse Microsoft’s existence (3 points)
  • rivals the Complaint Department at the Department of Transportation (5 points)

4.  The number of gifts that you need to return:

  • is only one or two and you plan to upgrade significantly (0 points)
  • will cause you to drive all over town making you wonder if it’s worth it (3 points)
  • is zero because you didn’t get any (5 points)

5.  The office party rumors about your behavior includes words like:

  • top notch, engaging, cute (0 points)
  • edgy, whiny, scary (3 points)
  • scandalous, off-the-charts, fired (5 points)
  • No office party (0 points — you may have dodged a bullet)

6.  After visiting relatives over the holidays, you:

  • still plan to call them this month (0 points)
  • wonder how it is that you are related (3 points)
  • have decided to adopt new relatives (5 points)
  • Didn’t visit relatives (0 points — you may have dodged a bullet)

7.  If you had to do December all over again, you:

  • would do it the exact same way (0 points)
  • would simplify in many ways (3 points)
  • would only celebrate Festivus (5 points)

 

How did you do?

If you scored 0 to 12 points:  Did you actually celebrate the holidays, are just tried to appear as if you did?

If you scored 13 to 27 points:  Don’t feel badly.  You’re like most of us in January.

If you scored 28 to 35 points:  Consider traveling to an exotic place in December this year.  Alone.

January 4, 2010 - Posted by | General Musings

12 Comments »

  1. I guess I just appeared to celebrate the holidays. If you weren’t such a whip cycling cracker, I might have gained a pound or two. I blame you.

    Comment by Gini Dietrich | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. Low scorer but really enjoyed the holidays. Hope you enjoyed yours as well and looking forward to a great 2010!

    Comment by Shannon Myers | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. I got an 11. WTH? Huh? Wha? Ha? So confused. Ok, back to my family, I love them so much.

    Comment by juliorvarela | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. Low scorer here, too. I will suggest an additional option for #2 – Did not use a credit card, so Christmas was paid for before December 25th. 🙂

    Comment by S.E. | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  5. Looks like Fiji next year #fail

    Comment by JohnnybGood | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  6. #8 — I thought I was celebrating. At least my scale says I was! LOL!

    Comment by Rosa Vargas | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  7. Other than •have decided to adopt new relatives — this holiday season was great. For 2010, I will tell the relatives I am at a minimum security camp.

    Comment by Terry | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  8. All points indicate a relatively low score but I’m astounded. Quiz question #3 = abysmal on my end. Off the charts.

    Thanks for the fun!

    PS-what a talented crowd here.

    -M

    Comment by Meghan M. Biro | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  9. I am not sure what to say with my score of “6”. I think I would do it the same way next year!

    Ready for next October!

    Comment by Justin | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  10. Aw, the phantom holiday … may I have a do-over? Seriously, it was one of the more dreamy Decembers I’ve encountered in a while. I was a bit conflicted answering Question #1 – as I neither gained nor lost, just status quo.

    Merry post-holiday memories and momentum, Jeff and all who are participating in and reviewing this delightful survey!

    ~Jacqui

    Comment by careertrend | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  11. Ahhh. I got an 8… and enjoyed every minute of it. Lowered the bar on spending and doing, and actually got to feel that “peace on earth, goodwill toward all” that the season is supposed to be about. Fun quiz, Jeff. Thanks!

    Comment by Katjaib | January 5, 2010 | Reply

  12. An 8! So why am I so tired? Oh, yeah, four kids. Good quiz, Jeff. You’re so smart!

    Comment by Donna White | January 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

