Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog

I Think, Therefore I Blog

Career Comebacks are Tough–Just Ask Lance Armstrong

j0399263Coming out of “retirement” to compete at the highest level is no simple matter.  Seven-time Tour de France winner, Lance Armstrong, has recently shown that there is a lot required to stage a strong comeback.

In your career, you may have had long stretches of similar success. Then, the unexpected. Perhaps a layoff or a merger. Set backs happen to even the best.

How you respond to the setback is what sets you apart from others. Take some pages out of Lance’s playbook to ensure a solid career comeback.

Article:  The Career Comeback Can Be Tough–Just Ask Lance Armstrong

Dec 21, 2014 Addendum:  Clearly things have changed on the image of Lance Armstrong, but don’t lose sight of the actual message of this article… JL

March 10, 2010 - Posted by | AOL article, Careers, General Musings, Job Search, Personal Branding

1 Comment »

  1. Very tough to come back, but it is possible and sometimes you end up better off! After a 3 year stint as a programmer/developer with my most recent company (15 years of total experience in programming), I was caught off guard by an unexpected job loss at the ripe young age of 56.

    Since I do read and watch the news, I was prepared for a long hard time. But to my surprise I had 4 job offers in 6 weeks. I guess things are not quite as bad in technology as in other sectors – plus my specific area of programming seems to be not have many competent programmers who are not already working – sure wasn’t like that in the 2000-2002 downturn!

    Miracle of miracles, I found the best job I have ever had and have been here for the last 6 months.

    I do actually think that there was some divine intervention – many prayers were prayed – and also a big shout out to a great job search site – http://www.job.com

    – Jim

    Comment by Jim Goins | May 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

