Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog

I Think, Therefore I Blog

Phone Interviews Can Be Harder Than On-Site Interviews

Phone interviews are a lot like the kid’s game Pin the Tail on the Donkey. You’re blindfolded and hoping you stay on target to win the game. Interviews are tough enough in general, but on the phone, there are some unique challenges in making the right impression. And many ways to make the wrong one.  Check out this article for insights on overcoming the challenges associated with Phone Interviews.

Article:  Overcoming the Challenges of the Phone Interview

August 26, 2010 - Posted by | AOL article, Interviewing 101

3 Comments »

  1. On-Site interviews give an advantage of being able to read body language. Phone interviews are much more difficult when one doesn’t have the ability to create a chemistry with the interviewer to break the ice- Which in all reality can be a benefit to the employer- that way they know that they picked the perfect candidate based on skills & experience- not the best schmoozer.

    Comment by Gina | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. I couldn’t forget my first phone interview. I am in customer service industry and usually they do phone interviews prior to inviting applicants to take written examinations and on site interviews. I wasn’t prepared when they called me. I almost groped for words during the session. But an advantage of it is that we had a spontaneous conversation. All my answers were personalized. Nothing was canned nor scripted. I believe, that’s where I got them interested. I am still working for the company for 2 years now. 🙂

    Cheers,
    Natalie Loopbaanadvies

    Comment by Natalie Loopbaanadvies | November 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] my previous article on dealing with phone interview challenges, I discussed tone of voice, good listening skills, monitoring your answers, and wrapping on a high […]

    Pingback by Phone Interviews Can Be Harder Than On-Site Interviews, Part 2 « Jeff Lipschultz’s Blog | December 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

